The Hungry Writer

An unemployed writer keeping sane during The Depression II.

Keeping ’em at bay

Posted by The eDater on February 20, 2009

Want a, hehe, job?

Want a, hehe, job?

Well, they’re coming out in full force now. I just got a “job offer” to work as a “legal representative” performing the duties of accounts receivable, or something like that. All I need’s a bank account and a desire to succeed!

I do wonder how many people fall for these scams. I mean, these are now becoming fairly highly targeted, so the success rate has to be pretty high for it to be worth the scammers’ time. I once heard that regular scam emails only need to hook about 2 people out of every million to be profitable – but this particular one is just going out through Careerbuilder. How many active unemployed can there be on Careerbuilder, anyway?

Ok, don’t answer that. Too depressing.

Then there’s another one I’m getting over and over – offering me freelance writing gigs. All I need do is buy their list of gigs! Then I’ll be paid $450 for every story I come up with!

Now, maybe they’re sending this out to everyone… but I suspect they’ve already got a good idea I’m a writer, and they’re targeting me. Again, how many of us out-of-work writers can there be, to make this profitable for the scammers?

All part of the mounting evidence in the case that needs none – this is a serious depression.

Speaking of serious, I’m seriously considering a slide down the Degree of Desperation ladder. I’ve been headhunted – because I can speak some Japanese. The job – phone tech support, in northern Baltimore, for Japanese folk (and during Japan’s business hours – otherwise known as the graveyard shift). The headhunter even repeatedly stressed – this could be something you can do just until you find something else. He was almost apologetic about presenting this suck-ass position. But there ain’t many Japanese speakers in the greater Baltimore metro area.

And I just might do it. It’d screw with everything else, but it would be, well, something. Tho the jury’s still out – the freelancing is actually coming along pretty well, and I wouldn’t want to mess with that… I’ll keep you posted.

One Response to “Keeping ’em at bay”

  1. scott1421 said

    Wow Great post! Maybe you can check out my post as well.

    http://jagurbiz21.wordpress.com/2009/02/20/pushbuttonpros/

Leave a Reply

 
